Lisa Ede Award

Have someone you want to nominate for the annual Lisa Ede Award? One award is given each year to both a deserving adjunct and full-time faculty member who exemplifies all that Lisa Ede stood for in her illustrious career.

Lisa Ede Teaching Excellence Award

In recognition of Lisa Ede's leadership and contributions to outstanding teaching throughout our region, TYCA-Pacific Northwest would like to recognize and encourage two-year college teachers in our region who exemplify innovation and creativity in the teaching of English, who have demonstrated outstanding teaching strategies that motivate students to excellence, and/or who have made a contribution to the field of English instruction at the two-year college level through professional development, publications, or service.

Who is eligible?

Any two-year college full-time or adjunct instructors in English, composition, literature, technical writing, and/or closely-related disciplines that work in the Pacific Northwest region are eligible (Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, Alaska, British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan). Nominees do not need to be current members of TYCA-PNW

Nominations by colleagues are preferred, but self-nominations are acceptable.

The Award

Two individuals (one full-time and one adjunct) will each receive a $500 award and will be recognized for outstanding teaching and/or scholarship at TYCA-PNW's annual conference in October of each year (in 2019, April).

The award winners will be selected by a committee appointed by the TYCA-PNW Regional Executive Committee. Previous winners and current members of the TYCA-PNW REC board are not eligible for the award.

Proposals are due by October 15, 2018.

Please submit your nomination by clicking here.

Past Recipients

2016: Jeffrey Klausman, Whatcom Community College
2015: Samm Erickson, Portland Community College; Dr. Kate Sullivan, Lane Community College
2014: Heather Ryan, Wenatchee Valley College; Shannon Hopkins, Yakima Valley CC
2013: Virginia Schwarz, Portland CC; Erin Toungate, Spokane Falls CC
2012: Angela Rasmussen, Spokane CC
2011: Lori Monnastes, Spokane Falls CC; Joy Clark, Yakima Valley CC
2010: Dan Peters, Yakima Valley CC; James Spaich, Whatcom CC
2009: Danielle Gray, Whatcom CC; Catherine Landwehr, Portland CC
2008: No awards (conference cancelled)
2007: Dodie Forrest, YVCC; Janet Lucas, Peninsula College
2006: Justus Ballard, Chemeketa CC; Heather Keast, Spokane Falls CC
2005: Sherri Winans, Whatcom CC; Lucette Wood, Linn-Benton CC
2004: Gordon Koestler, Yakima Valley CC
2003: Laju Nankani, Centralia College