Lisa Ede Teaching Excellence Award

Lisa Ede Teaching Excellence Award

In recognition of Lisa Ede's leadership and contributions to outstanding teaching throughout our region, TYCA-Pacific Northwest would like to recognize and encourage two-year college teachers in our region who exemplify innovation and creativity in the teaching of English, who have demonstrated outstanding teaching strategies that motivate students to excellence, and/or who have made a contribution to the field of English instruction at the two-year college level through professional development, publications, or service.

Who is eligible?

  • Any two-year college full-time or adjunct instructors in English, composition, literature, technical writing, and/or closely-related disciplines that work in the Pacific Northwest region are eligible (Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, Alaska, British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan).
  • Nominees do not need to be current members of TYCA-PNW
  • Nominations by colleagues are preferred, but self-nominations are acceptable.

The Award:

Two individuals (one full-time and one adjunct) will each receive a $500 award and will be recognized for outstanding teaching and/or scholarship at  TYCA-PNW's annual conference in October of each year.

The award winners will be selected by a committee appointed by the TYCA-PNW Regional Executive Committee. Previous winners and current members of the TYCA-PNW REC board are not eligible for the award.

To apply for the award

Send an email to and include the following:
Your name and affiliation
Your contact information
The nominee's name
The nominee's contact information
Adjunct or full-time?
A 250-500 word statement about why the nominee represents outstanding teaching and scholarship
by July 21, 2014 (extended!).

Past Recipients:

2013: Virginia Schwarz, Portland CC; Erin Toungate, Spokane Falls CC
2012: Angela Rasmussen, Spokane CC
2011: Lori Monnastes, Spokane Falls CC; Joy Clark, Yakima Valley CC
2010: Dan Peters, Yakima Valley CC; James Spaich, Whatcom CC
2009: Danielle Gray, Whatcom CC; Catherine Landwehr, Portland CC
2008: No awards (conference cancelled)
2007: Dodie Forrest, YVCC; Janet Lucas, Peninsula College
2006: Justus Ballard, Chemeketa CC; Heather Keast, Spokane Falls CC
2005: Sherri Winans, Whatcom CC; Lucette Wood, Linn-Benton CC
2004: Gordon Koestler, Yakima Valley CC
2003: Laju Nankani, Centralia College